Facebook-owned WhatsApp is altering the period of time you need to delete messages you have despatched for all recipients. According to WABetaInfo, for the reason that launch of WhatsApp beta for Android 2.18.69, the messaging app permits customers 2¹² seconds (four,096 seconds, which is 68 minutes, 16 seconds) to take again a message you did not need to ship. It replaces it with a “this was deleted” message. The characteristic has since been added to the iOS and Windows Phone apps by way of updates.
First launched final October, the “delete for everyone” characteristic used to permit you solely 7 minutes to delete a message. The app had a flaw although, permitting folks with modified variations of the app from third-party websites to delete messages way back to three years.
This has been fastened as effectively, and when a revoke request is available in, it is going to ensure that the message was despatched inside 24 hours. This time restrict was determined in case the recipient of the message that’s being deleted did not have their telephone on. If they do not flip their telephone on in 24 hours, the message won’t be deleted.